Daily Archives: October 10, 2010

“The Long Surrender” – Over the Rhine

over the rhine is doing a “private listening party” for their upcoming release “the long surrender” this weekend. this preview, as a way of saying “thank you” from karin and linford, is exclusively for a group of early donors who contributed early and helped finance the joe henry produced project.

listeners were asked to share their thought on the band’s facebook page, here are a few of them:

Kent: “It is such a thrill to have been given the opportunity to be a part of this. Thank you for delivering another one of a kind OTR gift of beautiful music. I don’t know who said it, but I always feel it when I listen to your music…..It’s like a conversation with people that care about things that matter.   
Robyn: “I may just sit here all night…”
Kara: “This is making my night. Thank you!”
Jacob: “3 songs in and loving it. Wonderful. And Joe Henry’s production is everything I hoped it would be. Thanks so much for sharing it early.”
Nicole: “truly Loving it… Gorgeous lyrics as Always.. have my wine, my chocolate and my OtR… perfect way to spend Friday night.. Thank you!!!”
Benjamin: “One more track for the soundtrack of my life. Thank you.”
Bill: “Absolutely brilliant. A masterpiece.”
Scott: “OK, I’m on my third consecutive listen to “Undamned.” Stunning.”
Erv: “Oh my god, what a beautiful gift – listening now for the first time, tears at the corners of my eyes…”
Lisa: “And all was right with the world again…”
Stephanie: “listening to this album makes me feel known. loved, even. so thankful for you sharing your lives and gifts with the us.”
Clay: “gorgeous in so. many. different. ways.”
Steve: “Incredible record OTR, incredible……beautiful songs and Joe Henry is a master at the production board.”
Barbara: “Stunning. I’m already addicted to Sharpest Blade, as well as All My Favorite People. But the whole record is pure ear candy; it’s vintage OtR with a twist! Henry’s production is spot-on. Can’t wait to hear these songs LIVE next month! Thank you Karin & Linford for such a beautiful work of art.”
Sarah: “This is like medicine for my soul after a very sad week at my house. “There’s something to be said for tenacity…I’ll hold on to you, you hold on to me.”
Trudy: “Oh my word. This album is gorgeous. I am absolutely loving it. A masterpiece is an understatement.”
Susan: “I’m on my 2nd listen to the new stuff and I’m just amazed. The lyrics touch me deeply, and Karin….I didn’t think it was possible to improve on your voice, but it sounds better than ever. Your collaboration with Joe Henry has brought forth an amazing collection of songs. I can’t wait for the CD so I can listen to …”
Erik: “I’m so grateful for you. I can already feel the words from “The Long Surrender” begin to work on me and move in me. Your music has helped, comforted, shaped me, and changed me in so many ways. Thank you for letting us be a part, however small, of your journey for “The Long Surrender.”

me: “yep, that’s all pretty accurate. it’s a brilliant piece of work, first note to last.”

the long surrender will be released on 1.11.11

more info @ overtherhine.com